Library Board of Trustees

President - Dr. John L. Markley

Vice President – Nancy K. Henricksen

Secretary – Carol Wolfe Boban 

Treasurer - Lynn Poper Samalea

Trustee – Emita R. Ostrem

Trustee – Esperanza Chavez

Trustee - Gail Gawlik

Trustee - Diane M. Harris

Trustee - Vacant

Contact: The entire Board of Trustees can be reached using this email address 

The Joliet Public Library Board is governed by a nine-member Board of Trustees. The trustees are appointed by the Mayor for a three-year term.

The Library Board of Trustees is responsible for establishing Library policy, authorizing services provided by the Library, establishing the Library budget, hiring the Library Executive Director, and requesting the collection of the designated Library millage. Library Board members do not receive compensation for their services.

The Joliet Public Library Board of Trustees meets on the third Thursday of every month at 7:00 p.m. in Meeting Room "B" of the Main Library.  During the months of May through October, the Board Meetings are held at the Black Road Branch.  The meetings are open to the public. Agendas are posted 48 hours prior to the meeting. Minutes are posted within seven days of approval. 

Board Meeting Schedule