Alphabetical Resources and Databases

 

Ancestry-Library EditionAncestry - This genealogy Website gives you access to a wide variety of databases; census records, military records, immigration records, and much more. Please note: This Website is only accessible from computers located at the Joliet Public Library Main Library or Black Rd. Branch.


Remote Access Available

ArticleFirst

 

ArticleFirst - A member of the FirstSearch family of databases. It included citations to articles in magazines and journals. Some citations have have links to the full text of the article. Library Card Required for  HOME ACCESS
 

       AtomicTraining With this online software training solution, patrons have access to thousands of online, on-demand video training tutorials on the most popular software and devices, including Microsoft® Office®, Adobe® Creative Suite®, Google™ Docs, iPad® and more.


Remote Access Available

Find information about businesses and executives, people, and health care professionals. 

Library Card Required for HOME ACCESS 

 

 


 Remote Access AvailableAuto Repair Reference CenterAuto Repair Reference Center - The Auto Repair Reference Center database includes automotive repair information on most manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, including drawings and step-by-step photographs. There are also Quick Tips--a complete guide to vehicle ownership and maintenance; plus service bulletins, and recalls. All of the content in this database has been created by ASE certified technicians.


Remote Access AvailableBusiness Source PremierBusiness Source Premier - Features full text for more than 2150 journals. Login by clicking "EBSCOhost Research Databases" to search.
 


 

Remote Access AvailableConsumer Health CompleteConsumer Health Complete - Comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content.
 


Remote Access AvailableConsumer Reports - This database has "expert, unbiased ratings" for more than 5,000 products. You will also find reviews, product ratings and buying advice.
 


Remote Access Available Explora   Explora  -  Provides easy-to-use features and reliable content from the world’s leading magazines and reference books.

   Library card required for  

 


Remote Access AvailableHeritageQuestHeritageQuest Online - This genealogy database gives you access to information about people found in U.S. Census records and genealogy-related books and articles. Library card required for Home Access. 
 


 

Remote Access Available Homework HelpNow!  HelpNow provides tutoring in elementary, middle school, high school, intro college, and adult education. Library card required for 

 


             Through a collection of comprehensive full-text content, this database provides users with detailed, user-friendly “how-to” information covering a variety of home improvement and repair projects.

 

Remote Access Available JobNow! Get free online job assistance from your home or library.  Powered by Brainfuse. 

 


 

Remote Access AvailableLegal Information Reference Center -  This database has Information about popular legal topics and gives access to printable legal forms.

 


Remote Access AvailableLiterary Reference Center Plus -  This database has information about thousands of authors and their works.

 


Literature Criticism OnlineLiterature Critisicm Online - Print material delivered in a digital format! Dig deeper into literature criticism with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available with tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays at your fingertips. Library Card Required for 


Mango-is an online language learning system teaching practical conversation skills for a wide variety of popular languages, including the following: English as a second language; Spanish; Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Italian, Japanese, Polish, and Russian. 


 Remote Access AvailableMasterFile Premier MasterFile Premier - This database give you access to "thousands of general reference magazines and publications, and covers a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues, and much more."
 


Remote Access AvailableMEDLINEMorningstar Investment Research Center - Information for investors in stocks and mutual funds. Library Card Required for 
 


Remote Access AvailableNovelist K-8 PlusNoveList K-8 Plus - This database "helps kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests."

 


Remote Access AvailableNovelist PlusNoveList Plus - An electronic readers' advisory resource which assists fiction readers in finding new authors and titles. When accessing from home, enter library barcode number for Patron ID.
 


 

Remote Access Available

Online Obituary Indexes - Joliet Herald NewsOnline Obituary Indexes - Indexes of obituaries published in the Joliet Herald-News, 1975 - 2012.

 


Remote Access Available

eMediaLibraryPinDigital - An eAudiobook is a digital copy of a digitally-protected audio book optimized for download. It can be played on any desktop or laptop device supporting Microsoft Windows Media Player. It can also be transferred to a wide range of portable devices, including portable music players and Pocket PCs. Access PinDigtal audiobooks remotely or in the library


Remote Access Available

Points of View - Here you will find information about both sides of controversial issues.

 


   Read It! is designed for middle and high school students and adults who have a basic foundation in English grammar and reading but need adapted reading material for a variety of subjects. It offers resources to help build background knowledge, conduct research and improve study skills.


Remote Access Available

Regional Business NewsRegional Business News - This database give you access to articles from "nearly 100 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications."
 


Remote Access AvailableSalem Press HistorySalem History - This database is aimed at students and teachers alike. Topics include International Relations, Environmental Issues, Popular Culture, and the Courts. "Core Curriculum" topics include American and World History, Women's History, and Western Civilization. Biographical information is here, and every user can establish a simple personalized profile to save important information, i.e., articles, searches, or citations. Library Card Required for 

 


        Designed to meet every student researcher's needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books and a vast collection of images.


Remote Access AvailableSomething About The Author OnlineSomething About The Author Online - Print material delivered in a digital format! This resource examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is an authoritative source on authors and literature for young people.  Library Card Required for